Learning Intention: We Are Learning To (WALT):

– Blend warm and cool colours together

– Lighten and darken colours using white and black

Success Criteria: What I’m Looking For (WILF):

– Edges of colours blurred together

– Smooth blending of brush strokes

– One colour to show silhouettes

Many artists use oil paints to create artworks. What the pros and cons of using oil paints?

1280px-Maslo_maslo

Here are some artworks created with oil paints. Oil paintings can look wet or shiny and sometimes have a thick texture.

Canna-flower-72dpi-6th-March-2014-copy Seaspray-8th-March-2014

Mixing paints together is part of the fun of painting. We can use white and dark paint to make our colours lighter and darker. In painting, a tint is a colour plus white, a shade is a colour plus black, and a tone is a colour plus grey.

It is important to properly blend colours together to avoid harsh and sharp lines in a landscape, especially to show a sunset sky, like these artworks below.

261372532613726126328604

2633435426137266

In these paintings we will use colour blending and tints to create our sky and then tones and shades to create the shadow of the mountains and cacti.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Landscape Desert Painting”

  1. to miss b,

    i love your fiancee’s pantings (tell him that)

    from michael

  2. Hi Michael,

    I am happy to hear you enjoyed viewing the examples of my paintings. I hope they inspired you to create some stunning landscapes.

    If you would like to view more of my oil paintings visit: http://www.markkingston.com.au

    Remember if you want to become a great artist you need to practice regularly. Raw talent can only take an artist so far. Never underestimate how much you can learn by drawing or painting regularly and continuously improving your work.

    Cheers,
    Mark

  3. Hey Miss B,

    These paintings are amazing!
    I wish I could paint as good as that,
    I probably should practice… but for now I
    guess I’ll just have to put up with my skills…
    (even though they’re still pretty good, he he).
    -Tanya 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *